Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Cobb County Criminal Defense Lawyer / Roswell DUI Penalties Lawyer

Roswell DUI Penalties Lawyer

If you have been arrested for drinking and driving, there’s a lot on the line. You could face fines, jail time, and numerous other penalties. You could even lose your license.

After a DUI arrest, you need to act quickly. You have just 30 days to decide whether you want to install an ignition interlock device on your car or file an appeal of the automatic suspension of your driver’s license. Once 30 days have passed, your options are limited. There may be no way to save your right to drive.

Roswell DUI penalties lawyer Andrew L. Schwartz, P.C. understands what it takes to defend your DUI charge. We can protect your freedom and your right to drive. We understand how to avoid Georgia DUI penalties.

DUI Penalties

The penalties for DUI are harsh and become even harsher if you have multiple DUIs on your record.

For a first DUI in Georgia, the potential penalties include:

  • Up to 10 days in jail
  • A minimum fine of $300
  • 12 months of probation
  • At least 40 hours of community service
  • Substance abuse counseling
  • DUI school
  • Driver’s license suspension

For a second DUI in Georgia, the potential penalties include the following:

  • Fines ranging from $600-$1,000
  • 1-3 years of probation
  • Between 90 days and 12 months in jail
  • 30 days of community service (240 hours)
  • DUI school
  • Driver’s license suspension
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Mandatory substance abuse counseling
  • DUI court

When someone has a third DUI in Georgia, they face the following penalties:

  • 1-3 years of probation
  • Fines ranging from $1,000-$5,000
  • 120 days to 12 months in jail
  • 30 days of community service (240 hours)
  • DUI school
  • Five years of driver’s license suspension
  • Mandatory drug and alcohol treatment
  • DUI court

What to Know About DUI Penalties

When a driver has prior DUI convictions, punishment depends on both the number of prior offenses and the severity of the current offense. Georgia has a 10-year “look back” period when determining enhancements in a person’s punishment, while the state has a five-year look back period when determining the driver’s license consequences of a person’s DUI offense. However, most courts punish offenders based on their entire criminal record, not just the number of offenses in the past decade.

The penalties for a drug-related DUI in Georgia are essentially the same as an alcohol-related DUI. However, the main difference is that those convicted of a drug offense do not qualify for a restricted license or limited permit.

Contact Andrew L. Schwartz, P.C. Today

A DUI charge can affect your life for a long time. You could face significant penalties, so you need someone on your side who can provide you with a solid defense.

Count on Andrew L. Schwartz, P.C. to give you the best outcome possible. Don’t give up; there are options and there is hope after a DUI arrest. Contact a Roswell DUI penalties lawyer today to learn more. To schedule a free consultation, give us a call at (678) 853-2500.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn