Smyrna DUI Penalties Lawyer
The DUI laws in Georgia make it a crime to drive while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. In Georgia and all other states, it is against the law to operate a moving vehicle when the driver has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 grams or above. However, if a person is clearly impaired and driving unsafely, then they can still face a DUI offense.
Some symptoms of intoxication include admitting to drinking, odor of alcohol, slurred speech, bloodshot eyes, fumbling, walking unsteadily, and providing incorrect or inconsistent answers. A police officer may administer field sobriety tests to assess the driver’s mental and physical impairment.
Driving under the influence is a serious matter in Georgia. An offense can result in severe consequences that can impact your ability to work and attend school. Your finances will also be affected.
Smyrna DUI penalties lawyer Andrew L. Schwartz, P.C. can help you understand what’s at risk. What consequences will you face? Contact us today to see how we can help.
If this is your first DUI conviction, the penalties won’t be as harsh but they are still strict, considering a DUI is a misdemeanor. You could face a fine of $300 to $1,000. You could face as little as 24 hours in jail or up to 12 months in jail.
Other mandatory minimum consequences include 40 hours of community service at a non-profit organization, completion of DUI school, a substance abuse evaluation, and 12 months of probation. While on probation, you may have to consent to random drug and alcohol screenings. For a first-time DUI, you can expect to face consequences that are more severe than the minimum sentence.
The stakes are even higher for truck drivers. Commercial drivers convicted of a DUI offense for the first time will face a one-year disqualification of their commercial driving privileges, which will no doubt affect their career and income. A subsequent DUI conviction will result in a lifetime commercial driver’s license disqualification.
What is a Felony DUI?
Most DUIs are misdemeanors. However, there are certain situations in which they can be felonies. For example, a fourth or subsequent DUI within 10 years is a felony offense in Georgia. The minimum penalty is a one-year jail sentence and a $1,000 fine. The maximum penalty is five years in jail and a $5,000 fine, plus court fees. Other requirements include 60 days of community service, DUI school, five years probation, a clinical evaluation, and possible substance abuse treatment.
Contact Andrew L. Schwartz, P.C. Today
Drinking and driving is never a good idea. Getting caught can result in fines, license loss, jail time, and many other long-term consequences.
You need Andrew L. Schwartz, P.C. on your case right away. We provide aggressive criminal defense with proven results. To schedule a free initial consultation with an experienced Smyrna DUI penalties lawyer, call (678) 853-2500.